Ecuador

Ecuador - A Land of Wonders at the Equator

Ecuador is a land full of wonders. It has palm trees growing at an altitude of 3000 metres and is home to ⅙ of all bird species in the world. It is abundant in natural resources, and the highly fertile volcanic soils produce harvest as often as 3 times a year with fruit like strawberries available all year round. Ecuadorians are very friendly and peace-loving people. Ecuador is indeed one of the most beautiful countries in the world, with unique and diverse landscapes.

Ecuador is located between Colombia and Peru on the Pacific coast and straddles across the Equator. The palpable force of mother nature can definitely be felt here. There are 55 volcanoes in the Andes highlands alone, in which 18 are classified as active. Ecuador’s unique location, topography, climate and ethnic groups (35% live in indigenous communities) make it one of the most diverse countries in the world. There is something utterly unique to experience and discover in every corner. The Yasuní National Park located in the Amazon lowlands has the highest biodiversity in the world. The coast of Ecuador is home to extensive mangrove forests, and the Galapagos Islands are the birthplace of the theory of evolution.

Green Gold

For generations, Ecuador has been the top exporter of bananas. They produce more than 20 types of bananas which are often used in their cooking. Banana plantations are found at altitudes from 0 up to 2000 metres and even at coastal areas. Besides bananas, other fruit and vegetables produced in Ecuador are also incredibly delicious. Exotic fruits like tamarillos, naranjillas and dragonfruit are often used to make mouth-watering juice.

The Best Cacao

Ecuadorians call it “Cacao-Nacional” while experts call it Arriba-Cacao. Cacao seeds are what chocolate is made from, which gives it a rich, velvety flavour. Cacao plantations are found in the Amazon and coastal region. They grow at altitudes from 0 to 700 metres. Ecuadorians have produced chocolate with great success, as exemplified by Pacari – an internationally renowned Ecuadorian chocolate manufacturer. Chocolate produced in Ecuador often contains over 60% cacao. This percentage is an excellent indication of the chocolate’s quality.

The Curse and Blessing of Ecuador’s Crude oil

Due to its prime location, Ecuador has some of the richest soils with plenty of natural resources. This was proven once again when a significant amount of crude oil was discovered in the Amazon lowlands. Revenues from oil production make up a large proportion of the state’s budget.  The nationalization of the oil sector in 2006 increased expenditure on education, allowing the introduction of minimum wage and help implement measures to combat poverty (see below). However, the history of oil production is often plagued by bad management, corruption, and environmental pollution. When the oil is extracted from underground, the environment is often contaminated with chemicals and oil. The building of oil extracting infrastructure usually involves deforestation which causes severe damage and pollution to nature.

The Shrimp Boom

When you fly over the coastal region of Ecuador, you will have a magnificent view of enormous pools located along the coastline. These natural pools are used for shrimp farming, and they run over 180,000 hectares. Shrimps are an integral part of the Ecuadorian diet, and it is comparable to sausages for Germans. Furthermore, Ecuador is the second largest shrimp exporter in the world. Shrimp farming pools were created through deforestation of mangrove forests, which is now prohibited.

Roses from Ecuador

The most beautiful roses in the world are found in Ecuador. Ecuador is the fourth largest exporter of roses which began in 1985. 2 million roses are exported yearly. Ecuador is continuously in the limelight of international debates surrounding environmentally and socially responsible flower production.

Peaceful Revolutions

The Republic of Ecuador’s political system is a representative democracy. Since 1832, Ecuador has gone through more political changes than any other countries in the world. Coups and revolutions seem to be part of the Ecuadorian DNA.  Most presidents do not survive more than a year in office. This is a lesser known fact about Ecuador as the revolutions are often very peaceful. The founder of Galapagos PRO, Beate Zwermann, has personally experienced 2 of such uprisings in Ecuador. When around 16 million Ecuadorians are unsatisfied with the government, they will march through the streets in Quito. Corruption and mismanagement of resources have plagued the country for years.

Despite having adopted the US Dollar as their official currency to ease inflation, that does not mean that they are Pro-America. At least not in the present. Under the governance of President Rafael Correa, the US-Ecuador relationship has grown distant. Furthermore, with the help of NGOs (Non-Profit Organisations), the country has reduced its foreign debt, which freed it from western economic imperialism. A commission was set up to examine the country’s debt and go through all credit agreements. It aimed at was to uncover illegitimate debts and to terminate them. Since then, Ecuador has difficulty finding a place in the international market. Most loans used for renewing Ecuador’s infrastructures came from China. In less than 10 years, transport infrastructure throughout the entire Ecuador completely. Ecuadorians now enjoy new streets, power lines, airports and a new underground train line in Quito. This drastic improvement allowed the economy to flourish. President Correa established taxes, worker’s rights and reduced extreme poverty in Ecuador up to 45%. All of this was paid for by the oil beneath the Amazon rainforest. Lenin Moreno, the former foreign minister, is now the successor of Correa. He provides trust and stability to his citizens. Although Rafael Correa’s government was not free from corruption, anyone familiar with Ecuador before 2000 will be amazed by the massive progress that the country has made in just a few years.

Educational Television

How should one wash their hands? What is the right way to set the table? How should trash be separated? These ‘burning’ questions were all answered by the ‘educational television’ in Ecuador. This was accompanied by the construction of public toilets, the introduction of waste separation and disposal using Europe’s UMV recycling model. Visitors will find Ecuador very clean today. The area in front of every door is swept, and public trash bins help to sort trash for recycling. National parks and public areas are clean and well kept too.

Hola Chica!

If you want to get to know the locals, you can first try speaking to the friendly shoe polisher at San Francisco Plaza in Quito. They are mostly youths who are eager to tell you their life stories while they swing their brushes enthusiastically. You can also try the benches at Grande Plaza, where aspiring politicians and preachers gather to give speeches.

New adventures await your discovery in Ecuador. Check out our tours now!

Ecuador and Galapagos Islands Tours

Otavalo Artists

Best of Ecuador: Andes, Coastlines and Cloud Forests

Duration: 18 - 18 days
Highlights: Otavalo Markets, Condor Park, Cuicocha Lagoon, Mangrove Forests

Prepare to be inspired as you experience Ecuador's breathtaking landscapes. Departing every Friday

From 1330,- USD
Price per person
Chimborazo Volcano during sunset

Ecuador by Car - classic routing

Duration: 12 - 14 days
Highlights: Volcanos, Endemic markets, Devil's Nose, Ingapirca - Inca Ruins

Individual round trip along the Avenue of the Volcanoes - Quito, Cotopaxi, Baños, Chimborazo, Alausí, Cuenca, Guayaquil

From 1730,- USD
Price per person
Chimborazo

Volcano Summit Striker: Cotopaxi and Chimborazo +3

Duration: 10 - 18 days
Highlights: Acclimitisation, Experienced Mountain Guides, Pasochoa Summit - 4,200 meters, Guagua Pichincha Summit - 4,794 meters, Iliniza North Summit - 5,116 meters, Cotopaxi Summit - 5,897 meters, Relaxation Day, Baños, Whymper Refuge, Chimborazo - 5,000 meters, Chimborazo Summit - 6,310 meters, Daily Departures, Group Appointments by Request, Incredible Landscapes, Includes Transfers, Includes Park Entrance Fees

Experience a unique Andean panorama from the peaks of the Ecuadorian volcanoes.

From 2010,- USD
Price per person
Lagunas de Ozogoche

Ecuador Rental Car Round Trip: 6 National Parks

Duration: 14 - 21 days
Highlights: Hotel car park , Exchangeable stops and activities, Flexible activities

Visit all six amazing national parks in the Andes by car. All stops are interchangeable.

From 2770,- USD
Price per person
Independence square at night

Wissensdurstreise Ecuador mit Küste - 2020

Duration: 15 - 18 days
Highlights:

Erleben Sie die drei Welten Ecuadors - Andenhochland, Regenwald und Küste - mit den besten Naturführern des Landes.

From 2880,- USD
Price per person
Avenue of the Volcanoes

Scenery and Society: Quito, Amazon, Andes and the Coast

Duration: 14 - 18 days
Highlights: UNESCO World Heritage Quito, Yasuni or Cuyabeno National Park, Andes panorama, Amazon Rainforest, Avenue of Volcanoes, Devil's Nose

Experience the diverse landscapes, rich history and intriguing culture of Ecuador

From 3070,- USD
Price per person
Zaruma

Ecuador/Galapagos Round Trip with Rental Car

Duration: 32 - 42 days
Highlights: Galapagos Islands, Safe hotel parking spaces, Exchangeable stops

Visit all highlights from North to South, East to West with this extensive Ecuador rental car tour.

From 3660,- USD
Price per person

✪ Ecuador and Galapagos Islands Tours ✪

Otavalo Artists

Best of Ecuador: Andes, Coastlines and Cloud Forests

Duration: 18 - 18 days
Highlights: Otavalo Markets, Condor Park, Cuicocha Lagoon, Mangrove Forests

Prepare to be inspired as you experience Ecuador's breathtaking landscapes. Departing every Friday

From 1330,- USD
Price per person
Chimborazo Volcano during sunset

Ecuador by Car - classic routing

Duration: 12 - 14 days
Highlights: Volcanos, Endemic markets, Devil's Nose, Ingapirca - Inca Ruins

Individual round trip along the Avenue of the Volcanoes - Quito, Cotopaxi, Baños, Chimborazo, Alausí, Cuenca, Guayaquil

From 1730,- USD
Price per person
Chimborazo

Volcano Summit Striker: Cotopaxi and Chimborazo +3

Duration: 10 - 18 days
Highlights: Acclimitisation, Experienced Mountain Guides, Pasochoa Summit - 4,200 meters, Guagua Pichincha Summit - 4,794 meters, Iliniza North Summit - 5,116 meters, Cotopaxi Summit - 5,897 meters, Relaxation Day, Baños, Whymper Refuge, Chimborazo - 5,000 meters, Chimborazo Summit - 6,310 meters, Daily Departures, Group Appointments by Request, Incredible Landscapes, Includes Transfers, Includes Park Entrance Fees

Experience a unique Andean panorama from the peaks of the Ecuadorian volcanoes.

From 2010,- USD
Price per person
Lagunas de Ozogoche

Ecuador Rental Car Round Trip: 6 National Parks

Duration: 14 - 21 days
Highlights: Hotel car park , Exchangeable stops and activities, Flexible activities

Visit all six amazing national parks in the Andes by car. All stops are interchangeable.

From 2770,- USD
Price per person
Independence square at night

Wissensdurstreise Ecuador mit Küste - 2020

Duration: 15 - 18 days
Highlights:

Erleben Sie die drei Welten Ecuadors - Andenhochland, Regenwald und Küste - mit den besten Naturführern des Landes.

From 2880,- USD
Price per person
Avenue of the Volcanoes

Scenery and Society: Quito, Amazon, Andes and the Coast

Duration: 14 - 18 days
Highlights: UNESCO World Heritage Quito, Yasuni or Cuyabeno National Park, Andes panorama, Amazon Rainforest, Avenue of Volcanoes, Devil's Nose

Experience the diverse landscapes, rich history and intriguing culture of Ecuador

From 3070,- USD
Price per person
Zaruma

Ecuador/Galapagos Round Trip with Rental Car

Duration: 32 - 42 days
Highlights: Galapagos Islands, Safe hotel parking spaces, Exchangeable stops

Visit all highlights from North to South, East to West with this extensive Ecuador rental car tour.

From 3660,- USD
Price per person
City of Guayaquil

Rental car tour to/from Guayaquil

Duration: 14 - 21 days
Highlights:

Begin your rental car tour from Guayaquil and visit the best highlights in Ecuador along the way.

From 3710,- USD
Price per person

Ecuador – Land der Wunder am Äquator

Ecuador ist ein ganz wundervoller Ort. Hier wachsen Palmen auf 3.000 Metern, hier pfeifen 1/6 aller Vogelarten, Wasser gibt es im Überfluss, die Böden sind vulkanisch und so fruchtbar, dass man dreimal im Jahr ernten kann und zum Beispiel Erdbeeren das ganze Jahr verfügbar sind. Die Menschen sind friedlich und sehr freundlich und die Landschaften so unterschiedlich und abwechslungsreich, dass der Weg das Ziel ist. Ecuador ist in der Tat eines der schönsten Länder dieser Erde.

Zwischen Kolumbien und Peru an der Pazifikküste gelegen und so groß wie etwa 2/3 der alten Bundesrepublik Deutschland, gab ihm die Lage auf dem Äquator (spanisch: ecuador) seinen Namen. Hier sind die Kräfte der Erde spürbar. Allein 55 Vulkane gibt es im Andenhochland – 18 davon sind als aktiv eingestuft. Ecuadors einmalige Lage, Topografie, Klima und die ethnischen Volksgruppen (ca. 35 Prozent leben in indigenen Volksgemeinschaften) machen es zu einem der vielfältigsten Länder der Erde. Das Amazonastiefland mit dem Yasuní-Nationalpark gilt als artenreichster Ort der Welt. Die Küste Ecuador beheimatet die größten Mangrovenwälder und die Galapagos-Inseln gelten als Geburtsort der Evolutionstheorie.

Das grüne Gold

Ecuador ist eine wahre Bananenrepublik – das grüne Gold ist der Exportschlager seit vielen Generationen. Mehr als 20 Sorten werden angebaut, darunter viel Arten von Kochbananen, die auch die einheimische Küche mitbestimmen. Der Bananenanbau findet sich in Mischkultur ab Null bis ca. 2.000 Meter Höhe fast überall im Land – große Plantagen jedoch ausschließlich an der Küste. Übrigens sind nicht nur die ecuadorianischen Bananen köstlich: Obst und Gemüse gehört zum Besten, was diese Erde produzieren kann. Exotische Früchte wie Baumtomate, Naranjilla und die Drachenfrucht machen jeden Saft zum Genuss.

Der beste Kakao

Die Ecuadorianer nennen ihn „Cacao-Nacional“ – die Fachleute sprechen von Arriba-Kakao – dem Stoff, der der Schokolade erst ihren Geschmack gibt. Arriba-Kakao ist in kleinen Mengen fast in jeder Schokolade vorhanden. Er wird in Mischkultur ab Null bis 700 Metern im Amazonas-Gebiet und an der Küste angebaut. Seit etwa 20 Jahren produzieren die Ecuadorianer auch eigene Schokolade, mit großem Erfolg wie die internationalen Auszeichnungen zum Beispiel für den Hersteller Pacari zeigen. Dabei kennzeichnet Ecuador-Schokolade fast immer ein hochprozentigem Kakao-Anteil von über 60 Prozent.

Fluch und Segen des Erdöls

Ecuador ist per se aufgrund seiner Lage, der Fruchtbarkeit seiner Böden, der Wasservorräte und Bodenschätze ein sehr reiches Land. Und es wurde eigentlich noch reicher, als man in den 1970er Jahren große Vorkommnisse von Erdöl im Amazonas-Tieflandes entdeckte. Seitdem bestimmt der Erdölpreis den Staatshaushalt. Die seit 2006 zunehmende Verstaatlichung des Erdölsektors führt zu einer gewissen Umverteilung durch Ausgaben für Bildung, für die Einführung von Mindestlöhnen und die Armutsbekämpfung (siehe unten). Die Geschichte der Erdölförderung steht im Zeichen von Misswirtschaft, Korruption und Umweltzerstörung. Die Umweltschäden resultieren aus der Verseuchung durch ausdringende Chemikalien und Erdöl, aus Infrastrukturmaßnahmen zur Förderung und aus der Besiedlung und Rodung im weiten Umfeld um die Erdölinstallationen im Amazonas-Tiefland.

Shrimps-Boom

Beim Flug über die Küstenregion Ecuador sieht man vielerorts ein Wasserbecken am anderen: In diesen natürlichen Pools wächst ein weiterer Exportschlager Ecuadors – die Garnele. Auf über 180.000 Hektar werden sie in Tausenden von Aufzuchtbecken gezüchtet. Nicht nur essen die Ecuadorianer diese Meeresfrüchte quasi wie wir Deutschen die Würste in der landestypischen Ceviche – Ecuador ist der zweitgrößte Exporteur von Garnelen weltweit. Umweltschäden durch die Abholzung von Mangrovenwäldern wurden anfangs in Kauf genommen, sind heute jedoch verboten.

Keine Rosen aus Amsterdem

Die ecuadorianische Rose gilt als schönste und beste der Welt. Seit 1985 exportiert Ecuador Blumen und ist mittlerweile viertgrößter Exporteur. Zugleich ist das Land Schwerpunkt der internationalen Kampagne für Umwelt- und sozialverträgliche Blumenproduktion. Etwa zwei Milliarden Rosen werden jährlich exportiert.

Friedliche Revolutionen

Ecuador ist eine Präsidialrepublik mit repräsentativer Demokratie und Mehrparteiensystem. Seit Staatsgründung im Jahr 1832 hat Ecuador so viele Regierungen wie kein anderes Land der Welt erlebt. Staatsstreiche und Putsche gehören zur DNA der Ecuadorianer. Viele Präsidenten überlebten kein Jahr in ihrem Amt. Dass die Welt so wenig darüber weiß, liegt wohl vermutlich daran, dass die Revolutionen in der Regel friedlich vonstatten gehen. Zwei davon hat die Gründerin von Galapagos PRO selbst bereits im Land erlebt. Wenn die ca. 16 Millionen Ecuadorianer unzufrieden sind mit den Leistungen ihrer Politiker, dann setzen sie sich in Bewegung und marschieren auf Quito. Korruption und Misswirtschaft haben das Land in tiefe Krisen gestürzt. Um die Inflation einzudämmen, ist seit dem Jahr 2000 der US-Dollar Landeswährung.

Das heißt aber nicht, dass die Ecuadorianer Amerika freundlich sind. Jedenfalls nicht mehr in der Gegenwart. Seit dem Regierungsantritt des letzten Präsidenten Rafael Correa ist das Verhältnis mehr als abgekühlt. Unter seiner Präsidentschaft und mit Hilfe von Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen (NGOs) hat das Land einen einzigartigen Weg zur Reduzierung seiner Auslandsschulden angetreten, die den Wirtschaftsimperialismus vieler Staaten offen legte. Eine Kommission untersuchte die Schulden des Landes und prüfte jeden Kreditvertrag. Das Ziel war es, illegitime Schulden zu finden und zu streichen, was in vielen Fällen einseitig zur Aufkündigung führte. Seither hat es Ecuador schwer auf den internationalen Finanzmärkten. Die Kredite für die Erneuerung des Landes kamen folglich im vergangenen Jahrzehnt aus China. In nur zehn Jahren wurde die Verkehrsinfrastruktur im ganzen Land komplett erneuert. Die Ecuadorianer bekamen neue Straßen, Stromleitungen, Flughäfen, Quito baut eine U-Bahn und die Wirtschaft florierte. Präsident Correa führte Steuern ein, schaffte Arbeitsrecht und reduzierte die extreme Armut in seinem Land um 45 Prozent. Bezahlt wurde all dies mit Erdöl, das auch heute noch reichlich unter dem Amazonasboden liegt. Der Verfall des Ölpreises führte das Land in eine neuerliche Krise, die es aktuell jedoch wieder zu überwinden scheint. Der Nachfolger Correas – sein vormaliger Außenminister Lenin Moreno – sorgt aktuell für Stabilität und Vertrauen. Auch Rafael Correas Regierung war nicht frei von Korruption. Die Beurteilungen seiner Leistungen für das Land fallen sehr unterschiedlich aus. Wer jedoch Ecuador noch aus der Zeit vor dem Jahr 2000 und heute kennt, staunt wohl über den großen Fortschritt, den das Land in nur wenigen Jahren gemacht hat.

Erziehungsfernsehen

Wie wäscht man sich die Hände? Wie deckt man den Tisch? Wie trennt man Müll? All das sind Fragen, die das „Erziehungsfernsehen“ im letzten Jahrzehnt dem ecuadorianischen Volk beantwortet hat. Damit einher ging der Bau öffentlicher Toiletten, die Einführung der Mülltrennung und Entsorgung am Beispiel Europas u.v.m. So findet der Besucher heute ein ordentliches Ecuador vor. Vor jeder Haustür wird gekehrt, die öffentlichen Mülleimer sind Wertstoff getrennt, die öffentlichen Toiletten an Tankstellen, in Nationalparks und Plätzen annehmbar sauber.

Hola Chica!

Wer mit Ecuadorianern in Kontakt kommen will, versucht sich am besten bei den Schuhputzern auf dem Plaza San Francisco in Quito. Es sind meist noch Buben im kindlichen Alter, die hier die Bürsten schwingen und im klaren Spanisch aus ihrem Leben erzählen, wenn man die richtigen Fragen stellt. Der nächste Schritt ist eine Parkbank auf dem Plaza Grande, der von vielen möchtegern Politikern und Predigern zu Ansprachen genutzt wird. Hinsetzen und warten wer kommt, heißt hier die Strategie. Als blonde Frau hat man meist sehr schnell Gesellschaft – von alten Männern und neugierigen Kindern – fast ausschließlich.